Posted by: Sandi | April 4, 2009

SOOC Saturday

Slurping Life

sooc4409

I’ve been having fun playing around with my camera’s macro setting 🙂

I happened to capture the first green leaves budding on our flowering vine; still covered in morning dew.  This particular plant I love…though I’m not even sure what it is beyond a vine with lovely purple flowers.

My oldest daughter picked it out a few years back as we were searching for plants for our patio.

Thinking it was an annual, I nearly threw it out at the end of the summer. After all, it looked like nothing more than an ugly mass of tangled, dead vines after all the foliage fell away. But laziness prevailed and the pot sat outside on the patio all winter.

Imagine our surprise and delight when it came back to life the next spring!

Whenever I see it I smile and remember there is always hope.

Responses

  1. You take beautiful pictures! They are so clean. If you don’t mind me asking what kind of camera do you use?

  2. What an interesting plant—the colors, the textures as it unfolds… We always kind of wing it with regard to plants–always a surprise what’s going to return the next year!

  3. beautiful shot.

  4. Great picture. I am anxiously waiting for spring to get here too.

  5. Spring makes me so happy! I love this shot!

  6. Thanks everyone!

    Sassy, I use a Canon PowerShot SD790 SI Digital Elph. I just got it a few months ago and love it! I’ve been really impressed with the quality.

  7. I’d love to see it in bloom!

  8. The morning light and dew make for the most gorgeous images. This one takes me ‘there’…love the crispness of the dew drops.

    Thanks for the reminder that there is always hope…after my evening, I needed to be reminded.

  9. Beautiful!!!

  10. I love your story behind the photo.

    Our clematis on our porch nearly looks hopeless each winter too… then is covered with brilliant blooms come spring… can’t wait!

  11. beautiful picture! I love the drops of water on the leaves.

  12. This photo is truly beautiful. And your story enhances it with meaning. I’m quite attached to some of my plants, too. Recently I named one of my trees after a child I know only through blogging.

    I’m going to be thinking about which one of my lovelies looks like a Jessica.

  13. Thanks Barbara!

    The way Jessica’s been acting today, she’s probably most resembling a prickly cactus…have any of those? 😉

  14. Wow ~ beautiful picture! You will have to show us another one when it grows some more so we can see how pretty it is.

  15. Hehe, Sandi. Now that gave me a chuckle! I only know the sweet and pretty Jessica you show here – would have never thought of a cactus!


Leave a Reply

Categories

