Posted by: Sandi | January 30, 2009

TGIF & CVS

It’s been a great Friday!

Since I had the day off today and my cold is to the point I could go out in public without embarrassing myself -(post-nasal drip induced hacking-up-a-lung style coughing is really not attractive) – I decided to grab my coupons and head for CVS.

Being new at this, I knew I’d have to spend some money to get started.  Purchasing $20 worth of certain Pepsi products produced $10 in Extra Bucks (EBs), so I started with that.

-)

My loot!

Transaction 1:
Pepsi Products (soda, chips) $20.00
Coupons:  -$4.00
Total Out of Pocket:  $16.00
EB’s earned:  $10.00

Transaction 2:
2 – packs Energizer batteries – $12.00
Coupons:  -$1.00
EBs used:  -$10.00
Total Out of Pocket: $1.00
EBs earned:  $4.00

Transaction 3:
1 – Gillette Shampoo $4.99
1 – Head/Shoulders Conditioner – $4.99
Coupons: -$3.00
EBs used: -$4.00
Total Out of Pocket: $2.98
EBs earned: $6.00

Transaction 4:
Almay cosmetics – $10.29
Coupon: -$1.00
EBs used: -$6.00
Total out of Pocket: $3.29
EBs earned: $5.00

So $23 total out of pocket and I have $5.00 EBs to use next time.  All in all I don’t think I did too bad!  And I’m sure it’ll get easier with practice.

A few things I learned:

-Planning out your transactions ahead of time is a good thing!!

-It’s nice to go when the store is quiet!   I’m not sure I could have done 4 separate transactions if there were other people waiting in line 🙂

-I’m going to start buying a 2nd Sunday paper to get duplicate coupons.

I’ve also started clipping coupons for the grocery store.   I’ll definitely never be one of those moms who somehow gets $1,000 worth of groceries for $3.00!  But I did save $20 off my grocery bill…so that made me happy!

And last, but not least,  I won a “Name My Assistant” contest over at Barbara’s site TherExtras.  Thanks Barbara!

Responses

  1. For your first CVS, you did AWESOME! There is a rebate for the pepsi that you might have qualifed for. I don’t have the form, but you could look for that online. If you got the rebate check that would lower your OOP even more.

    We gave up soft drinks so those look awfully good to me….

    I try to get my MIL to give me her spare coupons from the paper, but I do also buy an extra sometimes. There is a schedule of coupon weeks somewhere on the internet (some weeks there are tons of flyers, a few weeks there are none).

    You are an impressive shopper! yay!

  2. I am seriously impressed. Well done you!

  3. Wow, Sandi, you did great! I’m going to have to look at that ad again and get myself there before tomorrow….

  4. MATT and I both thank YOU! Let me know when you get the book, eh?

  5. Great job on your first CVS trip!


Leave a Reply

Categories

