Posted by: Sandi | December 8, 2008

CdLS Blog Challenge ~ Holiday Traditions

Share your family’s favorite holiday traditions and/or winter activities. Tell us a bit about them, such as how they started. Add photos if you like!

As my kids have gotten older, the holiday has definitely become more relaxed (or perhaps I’ve just gotten lazy!) however we do have a few traditions.

We put up the Christmas tree and decorations the day after Thanksgiving.  This got started when I was a kid.  We were always out of school the day after Thanksgiving and my Dad always went hunting – I think my Mom started this tradition as a way to keep me and my brother occupied!

At some point during the season, we pick an evening and drive around looking at Christmas lights.

We spend at least a few evenings curled up in front of the TV – Christmas tree and candles lit- and watch a good Christmas show or movie.

Christmas Eve we spend playing games (Canasta, Scrabble, etc).  My Mom always makes biscuits and cornbread for the dressing the next day, so we usually end up having a biscuit or two for a snack!  We allow the kids to open one present.  And we always put out milk and cookies for Santa 😉

If you’d like to participate in this week’s blog challenge, stop by GGIP and leave a link.
Responses

  1. I like your traditions. They sound laid back and fun. I don’t know how to play Canasta though.

    I also love driving around and looking at the Christmas lights. I think this year maybe we will start a tradition of driving around and looking at them together. My CLB would love to get excited about something like that and I am such a kid at heart that I would be excited too.

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. We always try to drive around and look at all the pretty Christmas lights too. A relaxed holiday sounds good to me! I’m with Heidi ~ I don’t know how to play Canasta either. But I love a good game of Scrabble! Happy Holidays!

  3. we are canasta players too :)! sounds like a very relaxed, and fun way to spend the holidays!

  4. We love going for drives and looking at all the lights. A night of games sounds like fun. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Hi, Sandi! I’m missing our usual connection through SOOC. Looks like you are taking a blog-holiday break, too. Hoping you and your whole family is well and enjoying the season.

    Merry Christmas!


Leave a Reply

Categories

