Posted by: Sandi | September 14, 2008

CdLS Blog Challenge – Simple Pleasures

This week’s blog challenge posed the question –what are your “simple pleasures” in life?

~ A tall glass of iced tea

~ Curling up with a good book

~ Cool evenings spent sitting on the porch listening to the night “music”, or taking walks by the water.

~ the trees in Autumn

~ Popcorn-n-Movie nights with my daughter

~ Thunderstorms (love to watch them!)

~ Playing Scrabble or Canasta with my family

~ Beads!  I love buying them, the look, the feel, and creating jewelry with them.

~ Blogging 🙂

Additionally, Heidi at GGIP asked if we felt our pleasures were drawn more from simple things since having a child with special needs:

I’ve always been a homebody and preferred keeping things simple.  So in that respect, having a child with special needs hasn’t changed anything.

What I have found is I’ve had to sometimes find new ways to enjoy some of my simple pleasures.

For example, I used to do a lot of drawing, painting, and crafts of all sorts.  But these involved lots of prep and clean-up, as well as lots of things you didn’t want a child ingesting!  So I had to look for non-messy, no-cleanup ways to indulge my creative side.  Fortunately, web graphics and digital scrapbooking fit the bill.  And I also bead (thanks Christy!) since it only requires a few tools and I can keep everything packed away in a box.

If you participate in the CdLS Blog Challenge, please make sure to post your link at Heidi’s blog GGIP so we can all visit!

Responses

  1. Thanks for answering my question.

    Reading a book is a simple pleasure and it is great that we are going to get to see the Fall leaves soon!

  2. I completely agree with beads and autumn trees. Two wonderfully simple pleasures. 🙂

  3. I forgot to add thunderstorms to my list! I love a good storm too, as long as it doesn’t get too dangerous for any one. I love the smell of the rain and hearing the thunder rumble.


Leave a Reply

Categories

