Posted by: Sandi | September 12, 2008

There must be something in the air

Today I was staring at a stack of peaches on my counter.  Peaches that were a few days shy of becoming overripe.  And I thought “I should make a cobbler!”

Just so you know –and those who do know me are laughing hysterically right now– I have never made a cobbler in my life.  My mom makes possibly the best cobblers in the world; she is an amazing cook.  Sadly, I did not inherit whatever the cooking or baking equivalent of a “green thumb” is.

So, I found what seemed to be a reasonably simple cobbler recipe, peeled a whole lotta peaches, and “viola”…

Peach Cobbler

What a surprise when I opened the oven…it actually looks like a cobbler!  It’s even kinda pretty!  Figured I’d better take a photo in case no one believed me  😉

Oh, and it tasted good too.

There is hope for me yet!

Responses

  1. yummy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! that looks so good. i haven’t eaten breakfast yet! send me some LOL!

    you’ll have to share the recipe.. easy is my middle name…. just kidding :)!

  2. Me too!!!

    I just tried my hand at my first cobbler a few weeks ago with some fresh local blueberries. It was a hit! I actually gave most of it away to family members, assuming it wasn’t going to be that good.
    Just wait for your family to request it again – it looks delicious!

  3. Thanks Rachel, I bet your blueberry cobbler was awesome! There must really be something in the air, LOL… everyone is making cobblers!

    Misty, I’ll send you the recipe so you can join in too 🙂

  4. I’m laughing, Sandi, because the first thing I thought when I saw your blog entry and the photo of the cobbler was that Sandi actually made something in the kitchen and blogged about it! LOL It’s never too late is it? You’ve come along way since burning the pan of water on the stove! It looks yummy! Maybe your mom’s cobbler gene is buried in your DNA after all! As a side note, I often wonder where my housekeeping genes came from (or rather, lack thereof). My mom has always kept an immaculate house, and my paternal grandmother did as well, so one would think I would have the same ability since it comes from both sides of the family. Sadly, that’s not the case….


Leave a Reply

Categories

